New: The Sports Mortgage

10 10 2009

You can now buy your own sports stadium seat the same way you can buy your own home. 

The “sports mortgage” is the latest attempt to increase funding for arenas as current sources of income diminish said Kevin Clark in his WSJ article, “At Long Last, the Sports Mortgage”

 “Public financing has been a failure for stadiums in the last half dozen years,” said Cal associate athletic director David Rosselli in the article linked above.  “I think this is going to be the future of how capital projects are done in sports”. 

Stadium seats go for as much as $220,000 at Cal (http://tinyurl.com/yk5sqq6)

Stadium seats go for as much as $220,000 at Cal (http://tinyurl.com/yk5sqq6)

Under the program, fans pay for their favorite seats over a given period, such as 50 years.  When this term is up and the seat is completely paid off, they become full owner until they choose to sell.   

Despite early hesitation from financial observers, many fans seem to find the option quite attractive: sports mortgages shield fans from season-to-season spikes in ticket prices and can also become a potential source of income in the long-run.

The University of Kansas and the University of California, Berkeley have already implemented the idea – and it is working, said Clark.  For five years Cal tried to raise the $300 million needed to renovate their Memorial Stadium, but came up with only $125 million.

The school then switched to the sports mortgage model, under which they only need to sell 3,000 seats.  Two-thirds of these seats have already been sold at prices such as $175,00 and $220,000 a piece over a 50-year term. 

Lou Weisbach, chief executive of the Stadium Capital Financing Group, came up with the idea in 2004.  He said in the article that professional teams are increasingly throwing around the idea as their official forms of revenue are depleting.

Since this seems to encompass the majority of professional teams as of now, it looks like the sports mortgage could be here to stay.  And good thing too; the sports mortgage model will not only raise money for struggling teams now, but over time as well.  It will keep fans in the seats for years to come, and this will surely boost future concession and ticket sales – a plus for both teams and fans alike.

Actions

Information

13 responses

5 06 2013
Mitchel

Hi! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are you using for this website? I’m getting sick and tired of WordPress because I’ve had problems with hackers and I’m looking at alternatives for another platform. I would be great if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

8 06 2013
Lorie

I enjoy reading an article that can make men and women think. Also, thank you for allowing for me to comment!

9 06 2013
Sally

I blog quite often and I genuinely thank you for your information. This article has truly peaked my interest. I am going to bookmark your site and keep checking for new information about once a week. I opted in for your Feed too.

10 06 2013
Beverly

Does your blog have a contact page? I’m having a tough time locating it but, I’d like to send you an email. I’ve got some creative ideas for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great blog and I look forward to seeing it expand over time.

10 06 2013
Tarah

I’ve been surfing online greater than 3 hours lately, yet I by no means found any attention-grabbing article like yours. It is lovely worth sufficient for me. Personally, if all site owners and bloggers made good content material as you probably did, the net shall be much more useful than ever before.

10 06 2013
Nigel

I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you design this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you? Plz respond as I’m looking to create my own blog and would like to know where u got this from. many thanks

11 06 2013
Derrick

I’m now not certain where you are getting your information, but great topic. I must spend some time studying more or understanding more. Thanks for great information I used to be looking for this info for my mission.

11 06 2013
Jens

I used to be recommended this web site by way of my cousin. I am now not certain whether this post is written by way of him as nobody else recognise such certain about my problem. You are wonderful! Thank you!

12 06 2013
Merrill

Hi there, just wanted to mention, I loved this post. It was practical. Keep on posting!

13 06 2013
Benjamin

I am truly glad to glance at this weblog posts which carries tons of helpful information, thanks for providing these kinds of statistics.

14 07 2013
Dora

I enjoy what you guys tend to be up too. This type of clever work and reporting! Keep up the awesome works guys I’ve included you guys to my own blogroll.

14 07 2013
Kenneth

Pretty! This was an incredibly wonderful post. Many thanks for supplying this info.

15 07 2013
Mercedes

I am in fact thankful to the owner of this website who has shared this great piece of writing at here.

Leave a Reply

